This past weekend I had the honor and pleasure of working
with the PGA Tour Champions crew at the Pure Insurance Championship Impacting
the First Tee here at Poppy Hills and Pebble Beach. It was really a fairly quiet weekend, but the
tour has a really great crew of officials to work with and the fantastic
weather also helped make for a memorable weekend on tour.
It’s fun for me to work an event like this because I get to
be the rookie again. The stories I got to hear from officials who’ve been
working on this tour or another for 30 plus years all gave valuable insights to
improve my own officiating. It’s also
fun to get just a little bit of jitters again when that 40 seconds of sheer
terror comes up amongst the 4 (12) hours of boredom.
Anyway, I’m certainly not going to talk in depth about any
inner-workings (except that if you hear anyone say the Tours don’t care about
pace of play – that person is wrong), but I did have two interesting rulings
that are worth discussing for their educational value.
Parts of the Course
and the Impact of Local Rules
On Friday, I was on the 18th hole at Poppy Hills
and Scott McCarron waved me over. His
ball was in a “Natural Sandy Area” and he just wanted to confirm that it was
actually an NSA and not a bunker. I
confirmed for him and he followed up by asking if stones in the NSA were
movable obstructions like they are in bunkers (by Local Rule). I explained that the stones in an NSA are
loose impediments and could be moved provided the ball is not moved in the
process. That was the end of the
interaction but immediately the gears started turning…
With the Local Rule making stones in bunkers in effect, one
of the fundamental hierarchies of the Rules of Golf suffered a little
dent. Typically, areas that are through
the green are treated more favorably under the Rules than hazards (bunkers and
water hazards). For example, through the
green a player may move loose impediments without penalty provided the ball is
not moved, however in a hazard, Rule 13-4 prohibits that action when the ball
lies in the same hazard. By using the
Local Rule, bunkers get to be treated in a more favorable fashion than the
NSA’s by changing the status of a stone to movable obstruction. If the player
accidentally moves the ball in the process of moving a movable obstruction,
there is no penalty (and the ball must be replaced). So with the Local Rule, a player could
accidentally move their ball in play while moving a stone in a bunker, and not
incur a penalty, however the same action in an NSA would result in a one-stroke
penalty thereby making through the green a harsher place to end up than the
bunker – at least as far as stones are concerned.
I’m not making a comment on whether this is good or bad,
right or wrong, but it was just an interesting wrinkle about the effect of
certain Local Rules on the big picture.
Jay Haas and the Tree
by a Cart Path (this one’s for your Spooner)
Frequently, we get rulings that are very simple on the
outside but involve a significant amount of Rules subsets to complete. In this
case, I dealt with a simple case of giving relief from a cart path, but the
number of Rules involved I believe hit double digits by the time all was said
and done.
Jay Haas called for a ruling on the 9th hole at
Poppy Hills and I was nearest so I headed over.
When I got there his ball was on the edge of the cart path with a bushy
tree directly next to it. He said he was
looking for his relief point. The way his ball was sitting and the way the tree
interfered with a normal direction of play I had to ask, “Ok, so the question
is what shot would you play if the cart path weren’t here?” He looks at me and says, “That’s just it… I
think the only shot I can play here is a little pitch out backwards away from
the hole,” and he takes his stance and demonstrates how he’d play a pitch
out. That shot was perfectly reasonable
and so he was entitled to relief – for that stroke (see Decision 24-2b/17).
So his nearest point of relief ended up being about a yard
into the middle of the bushy tree. The diagram in Decision 24-2b/3.7 highlights
how this works pretty well. Fortunately, this wasn’t actually a tree trunk,
just in the branches and he was able to get a tee down on the ground at his
nearest point of relief. He measured his
one club-length and at first measured in an angle toward the path such that the
club-length got him out of the tree to a position where he could play a
right-handed shot. The problem is, if he
dropped the ball at the point he was looking at, he would still have
interference from the path – for the backwards stroke he was taking relief
for. So I explained he has to drop where
he has complete relief for the backwards stroke and he adjust the club-length
and dropped accordingly.
The first drop rolled to where he could play right-handed,
but still had interference for the backwards stroke. So I had him re-drop with
the same result.
For those following the count, we started with Rule 24-2b
with two situations supported by 24-2b Decisions. Now we’re in the middle of
Rule 20-2c because he’s dropping.
He tried to place the ball where it first struck the ground
on the second drop and it didn’t stay put. He tried again and it wouldn’t stay
put. So now we’ve moved on to Rule 20-3d and he had to place the ball at the
nearest point no nearer the hole where it would stay at rest. This was only an
inch away and the ball stayed put.
In many cases, this would be the end of it, but as Haas
attempted to take his stance one of the lower branches was pushed back a
little, and it seemed potentially unnecessary.
He asked if it was OK - which was a key point to me - because it meant
he was attempting to take his stance fairly. We’ve now moved into Rule 13-2 territory.
(I’ll break this down piece by piece shortly).
I explained to Haas that he needed to take the least intrusive method of
taking his stance, which meant that if it were possible for him to take his
stance without moving that branch back, that’s how he had to stand. So he did
some shuffling and managed a fairly wide stance with the branch back in its
original position.
At this point he stepped out of this stance and walked onto
the path to his caddie but was concerned because he said that was not his
normal stance and thought he could back into the position the way he originally
did. I explained that if he’s able to take his stance without bending the
branch, that’s how he had to do it, but if it were not possible to take his
stance without doing so, that’s when it would be permitted. Meanwhile, a good chunk of time had passed
and we were several yards from the ball, when the ball decided it had its own
plans and rolled about six inches down the slope. And now we’re in Rule 18-2 –
really Decision 18-2/0.5 and have to make a determination.
Since he had not taken any actions near the ball besides
taking his stance (club had not been grounded, no ground within a club of the
ball had been touched), the ball was already perched precariously, we were some
distance from the ball when it moved and there was a significant amount of time
between any actions occurring and the ball moving, it was less likely than not
that he had caused the ball to move.
Therefore, he had to play the ball from the new position.
So with the ball in the new position he again took his
stance, partially in the tree and was able to take his normal stance without
moving the branch. He played, said thank you for the help and the ruling was
finally complete. But as you can see, a
fairly simple ruling on the outside (cart path relief) involved many different
Rules to finally resolve the entire situation.
Furthermore, it required an understanding within certain Rules to make
sure the procedure and eventual stance were correct.
We’re at an interesting time in the Rules of Golf world,
because we are nearing the largest re-working of the Rule book since 1984. Many
golfers are looking for “simpler” Rules. It is important to understand that the
Rules are complex due to the infinite nature of golf’s playing field. There are no trees on the 50 yard line or on
a basketball court that could influence the game. No cart paths running through
the middle of a baseball diamond. So in
golf, in order to give relief for things that interfere with the proper playing
of the game, Rules have to be created to make sure every player takes relief in
the same manner. So even with a new code coming out, there will still be
complex rulings and situations that require in-depth knowledge to
satisfactorily resolve situations.
For example, in the new Rules, the essence of Rule 13-2
still exists (proposed Rule 8.1). In the ruling above, I had to work through
many aspects of Rule 13-2 to get to the proper result and the same process will
still have to be followed under Rule 8.1. Here’s the breakdown:
Haas was taking his stance in a tree with some
branches. Rule 13-2 prohibits a player
from “improving” a specific area. So
first, I had to determine if he was making an improvement. Decision 13-2/0.5 explains that an
improvement would be something that gives the player a potential advantage.
Next, there are four specific areas that a player cannot improve: lie of ball,
area of stance or swing, line of play or area where he is dropping a ball. The area of stance and swing were involved
here and the branch being moved would be an improvement. So the Rules still applies.
Next, there are only specific actions that a
player may not take if it improves one of the four protected areas. The second one listed is “moving, bending or
breaking anything growing or fixed.” That was the case here as Haas was moving
a branch from a growing tree. However,
there are exceptions where the player would not be penalized even if one of the
protected areas were improved. The second bullet is “in fairly taking his
stance.”
The term “fairly taking his stance” is explained in Decision
13-2/1 and the key points from the decision are that 1) the player is not
entitled to a normal stance or swing and 2) the player should select the least
intrusive course of action that results in the minimum improvement of the
area. While Haas was taking his stance,
this was the determination that needed to be made. The last part, was that Haas
had improved a protected area but did so while attempting to fairly take his
stance. Now Decision 13-2/1.1 discusses the situation and we get to the result
of no penalty because 1) the branch was moved while attempting to take his
stance fairly and 2) the branch was returned to its original position before
the stroke was made.
Under the proposed Rule 8.1 the same exact process is
followed to get to the same result, the only difference being that the key
points of Decisions 13-2/0.5, 13-2/1 and 13-2/1.1 have been brought out into
the Rule itself, eliminating the need to know a supporting Decision. The Rule
is still complex and involves a decent amount of knowledge to apply it
properly, but it has to be there to protect the nature of the game. It is
easier to understand, but it is not necessarily “simpler” – and that’s OK.