Ok,
so we’ve had a few events happen in the past few days so here’s an overview of
what’s happened at Quail Hollow during the Wells Fargo Championship and on the LPGA Tour at Kingsmill:
The “One Ball Rule”
Erik
Compton called a penalty on himself for a violation of the “One Ball Rule" on
Thursday during the first round of the Wells Fargo Championship. The so-called “One Ball Rule" has
always been just slightly misnamed – it is actually a Condition of the
Competition and not a local Rule.
Found in the Rules of Golf at Appendix I-C-1c it states, “During a
stipulated round, the balls a player plays must be of the same brand and model
as detailed by a single entry on the current list of Conforming Golf Balls.”
Compton
realized that he had inadvertently switched from one of the brand-new prototype
2013 models of the Pro-V1x and had put a 2011 model Pro-V1x into play. This seems relatively minor but as we
all know, technology moves fast and those two golf balls have two separate
listings on the current list of Conforming Golf Balls.
The
“One Ball” Condition has one of those maximum penalty per round penalty
statements, meaning Compton could only have been subject to four total penalty
strokes had he used the ball for multiple holes. One interesting note is that this breach does not need to be
corrected immediately. Upon
discovery of the breach, the player may finish the hole with the incorrect
ball, so long as he does not play it from the next teeing ground. The player may also elect to substitute
a correct ball immediately by placing it on the spot where the incorrect ball
originally lay. If, however, the
player does not put a correct ball into play from the next teeing ground, the
p[layer is subject to disqualification.
The
discussion came up earlier in the year about a player who notices the breach on
the final hole of the round. This
is not a situation where the player needs to go back and correct the mistake
(like playing from outside the teeing ground or playing a wrong ball). If the breach is noticed on the final
putting green, the player incurs a two-stroke penalty for each hole where the
breach first occurred with a maximum of four penalty strokes. No correction has to be made at that
point. So if you realize the
incorrect ball was put into play at the 13th hole, you would incur
two penalty strokes at the 13th and 14th holes, but no
further penalty is incurred.
Sergio’s “Putt”
This
wasn’t so much a Rules situation, but it could use some clarification. Remember that the Rules of Golf do not differentiate between the club used for a stroke when trying to define
it. Although Sergio “chipped” the
ball from the putting green, because the stroke was made from the putting green
it is considered a “putt.” In the
opposite situation, if Sergio uses a putter from through the green (like the
fringe), it would be a “chip” and a line of putt would not be applicable only a
line of play. This difference
typically comes into play when determining performance statistics, but a
relevant Rules situation would be when there is interference from an immovable
obstruction (like a sprinkler head).
If
a player’s ball lies through the green (more specifically not on the putting
green) and a sprinkler interferes with a stroke using the putter, without any
local Rules in effect, the player would not be entitled to relief. Line of putt is not applicable. If, however, the ball and obstruction
lay on the putting green, a player would be entitled to relief for interference
by an immovable obstruction on the line of putt, regardless of whether he is using
a putter.
Sergio – again.
After
the Tiger Woods incident at the Masters, a lot of questions have been raised
about viewer call-ins. At the
Wells Fargo on Friday, a viewer called on to question Sergio’s marking and
replacement of his ball on the 17th putting green. He had apparently marked the ball from
the side and when replaced the viewer thought he was putting it back in the
wrong place. After television review,
Tour officials ruled that there was no breach. Sergio was honorable in the situation and declared, “If
people are going to think I’m a cheater, I’d rather get a two-stroke penalty
and move on than not get a two-stroke penalty and people think I’m cheating.”
There are many ways to correctly mark a golf ball prior to lifting it. The Note to Rule 20-1 and Decision 20-1/16 tell us that a mark SHOULD be placed immediately behind the ball, but nothing in the Rules of Golf requires that the mark be placed behind the ball. There was nothing wrong with Sergio marking the ball from the side or at an angle, so long as the ball was replaced at the same spot. According to the Officials' review, he did exactly that.
It
was recently revealed that Tiger’s call-in viewer was actually a former Rules
Official who had the number of one of the officials working the Masters. I personally believe that the
controversy surrounding viewer call-ins is blown slightly out of proportion
because it is highly likely that the majority of these calls are coming from
Rules Officials that have the phone number and ability to call working
officials. I am in the industry
and don’t have the first clue how I would contact somebody in a call-in
situation. Whoever is doing the
calling, has an in and likely the knowledge to know what they’re actually
calling about. Remember that the
Tour or body in charge of the event does not have to consider the phone calls,
they only do if there is some merit behind the information.
Lift, Clean and Place – sort of
Most
country club members are familiar with “preferred lies” more commonly known as
“lift, clean and place.” On both
the PGA and LPGA Tours this week, officials decided to use the Rule
selectively. Lift, clean and place
was only in effect on certain holes in both events due to conditions on the
course. Some viewers may be
wondering how this is possible.
In
the Rules of Golf at Appendix I-B-4c you will find the recommended Local Rule
for “Preferred Lies.” The first
sentence reads, “A ball lying in a closely mown area through the green (or
specify a more restricted area, e.g., at the 6th hole) may be
lifted, without penalty, and cleaned.”
This
recommended verbiage clearly permits the Committee to restrict the Local Rule to
a specific hole or holes in cases where the conditions of the course do not
warrant using the Local Rule throughout the entire course.
Christina
Kim admirably called a penalty on herself when she lifted and cleaned her ball
on one of the holes not specified by the LPGA Tour. She admitted that she was playing quickly and thought that
hole 6 was hole 7. If she replaced
the ball in the exact spot she was subject to a one-stroke penalty for a breach
of Rule 18-2a (Ball at Rest Moved).
If she placed the ball on a different spot than the original and played
it she was subject to a two-stroke penalty for playing from a wrong place in
breach of Rule 18-2a which required her to replace the moved ball.
Much
to her credit she tweeted about it later, “I’m too quick for anyone to
catch. It’s my own fault. I thought 6 was 7.” And then in
response to a Twitter follower who wanted to place some blame on the caddie, “not
a chance. Was all me. I was faster than anyone realized. Why blame anyone but myself, since I
knew the rule.”
Always
a class act.
No comments:
Post a Comment