After
both world #1’s were hit with penalties yesterday under Rule 18-2, another ball
at rest was moved by Justin Rose today and he incurred a one-stroke penalty,
much to the dismay of announcers and other media who don’t quite understand
that it is all the same Rule. So
here is a clarification of Rule 18-2 and why these penalties have occurred:
Playing the Ball as
it Lies
It
all starts with Rule 13-1, “The ball must be played as it lies, except as
otherwise provided in the Rules.”
This means that the ball cannot be moved by anyone or anything, but
there are some exceptions.
The exceptions are actually other
Rules. There are several Rules
that permit the player to play the ball OTHER than as it lies without penalty:
-Rule
24 permits the player to lift the ball to take relief from obstructions.
-Rule
25 permits the player to lift the ball to take relief from abnormal ground
conditions, an embedded ball or a wrong putting green.
-Rules
18-1 and 19-1 may have the player play from a different spot when an outside
agency has affected the position of the ball.
There
are also several Rules that permit the player to play the ball other than as it
lies, but must take a penalty stroke to do so:
-Rule
26 permits the player to take relief from water hazards
-Rule
28 permits the player to take relief from an unplayable lie.
There
is even a Rule that REQUIRES the player to play the ball other than as it lies
and take a penalty stroke:
-Rule 27-1, if the ball comes to rest out of bounds the player must proceed
under penalty of stroke and distance.
If the player plays the ball as it lies out of bounds, the player would
be playing a wrong ball (Decision 15/6).
There
are also Rules that permit the player to move his ball at rest, but must follow
a specific procedure to do so:
-Rule
5-3 permits the player to lift the ball to determine if it is unfit for
play. If it is, he may substitute
another ball, if it isn’t the ball must be replaced.
-Rule
12-2 permits the player to lift the ball in order to identify it, but the ball
must be replaced.
-Rule
16-1b permits the player to lift and clean the ball when it lies on the putting
green, but it must be replaced.
-Rule
22 permits the player to lift the ball if it might assist (if any player thinks
it might assist) or if it interferes (if the player whose ball it interferes
with requests). The ball must not
be cleaned when lifted and must be replaced.
Those
are all instances where the ball would not be played as it lies. So if a ball is not played from where
it came to rest and it was not moved in accordance with the Rules listed above
(or other rare exceptions by Decision or Local Rule), there must be a penalty
associated with it depending on how the ball was moved.
When the Player Moves
the Ball
That
brings us to Rule 18-2. Rule 18-2
specifically deals with what happens when the player, his partner or either of
their caddies move the ball in play.
The Rule is split into two separate parts, 18-2a covers when the ball is
moved and it has not been addressed and 18-2b covers when the ball is moved
after it has been addressed.
Rule
18-2b has received a lot of press recently because a new Exception was added in
2012 to add some leniency to the Rule.
The Rule itself did not change and reads: “If a player’s ball in play
moves after he has addressed it (other than as a result of a stroke), the
player is deemed to have moved the ball and incurs a penalty of one stroke.”
The new 2012 Exception absolves the player from penalty if it is known or virtually certain
that the player did not cause the ball to move. Many players thought the Exception would always get them off
the hook, but Decision 18-2b/11 clarifies that in order to be virtually certain
that the player did not cause the ball to move, it must be virtually certain
that something else DID cause it to move and that gravity is not included in
that something else.
Rule
18-2b is what Inbee Park was penalized under yesterday. Once she grounded her club immediately
behind the ball she had addressed it.
When the ball moved after addressing it she was deemed to have moved
it. The Exception did not apply
because there was no virtual certainty that something else had caused the ball
to move. Therefore, she incurred a
one-stroke penalty and was required to replace the ball.
Rule
18-2a is what happens whenever a player accidentally moves a ball prior to
addressing it. This happened
yesterday with Tiger Woods when he started to move a loose impediment. And then today, Justin Rose was
penalized when his divot from a practice swing moved his ball in play.
Where
some get confused is the difference between the one-stroke and the two-stroke
penalties that occur under this Rule.
Here is the answer: The
Rule (both a and b) requires the ball to be replaced unless the movement began
after the backswing for the stroke and the stroke was made. If the ball is replaced, it is only the
one-stroke penalty proscribed by the Rule. If it is NOT replaced, the player has played the ball from a
wrong place, and the one-stroke penalty becomes a two-stroke penalty because
the player is in breach of the Rule and incurs the general penalty.
So
yesterday, because Tiger didn’t think his ball had moved, he didn’t replace
it. When he didn’t replace it, the
one-stroke penalty for moving his ball became a two-stroke penalty for playing
from a wrong place. I’ll leave the
gallery to comment on the fairness of the use of video footage when the
player’s eye was not able to see movement.
Today,
when Justin Rose moved his ball via his divot, he saw the movement and was able
to replace the ball to the correct spot.
His one-stroke penalty stayed a one-stroke penalty. (See Decisions 18-2a/20 and 18-2a/20.5
for practice swings moving the ball in play).
It
all comes back to Rule 13-1 and playing the ball as it lies. In order to play it as it lies, you
cannot move the ball. If you do,
there is a penalty. If you move the ball and don’t put it back it becomes a
bigger penalty.
Playing from a Wrong
Place and the Applicable Rule
For
the advanced Rules minds I want to share a brief note about citing
penalties. When dealing with wrong
place penalties, the Rules are frequently mis-cited. You will see citations stating that the player was penalized
under Rule 20-7. When a player plays
from a wrong place, however, the Rule he is breaching is not Rule 20-7. In fact, Rule 20-7 states specifically
that, “If a competitor makes a stroke from a wrong place, he incurs a penalty
of two strokes under the applicable Rule.”
Well
what is the applicable Rule? As we
saw in the examples above, it is frequently Rule 18-2a or 18-2b. If the player moves the ball and fails
to replace is it is a two-stroke penalty under Rule 18-2a or b and not
20-7. If, when taking relief from
a water hazard a player drop the ball three club-lengths from the point where
the ball last crossed the margin and plays it, he incurs the one stroke penalty
for taking relief and an additional two-strokes under Rule 26-1 for the breach
of the Rule. The penalty comes
about because he played from a wrong place, but the Rule breached is not 20-7
but rather 26-1 in this case.
Great writing!!
ReplyDelete