This
classic Dufner moment during the Franklin-Templeton Shootout last week was
caught on video and was worth an extra look.
Notably, Peter Jacobsen announcing needs just a slight Rules lesson so
we can inform all the viewers next time.
Jacobsen
announced the mishap as Dufner’s birdie attempt, but really what happened was
Dufner moved his ball in addressing it. His “birdie try” was actually a
one-stroke penalty under Rule 18-2a. Had
Dufner decided to finish the hole he was required to replace the ball or else
he would have incurred two total penalty strokes for playing from a wrong place
in breach of Rule 18-2a. Since the
accident occurred in four-ball play, rather than go through the process of
replacing the ball and finishing the hole, Dufner’s partner, Dustin Johnson,
finished the hole for the side.
No comments:
Post a Comment