On
the 18th hole of her third round in the Ricoh Women’s British Open
at Royal Birkdale, Sun-Ju Ahn had a very awkward lie in the greenside
bunker. In order to gain better
footing, she slid sand down the side of the bunker to help gain a foothold on
the side-slope of the bunker.
Under
Rule 13-3 a player is entitled to take her stance firmly, but must not build a
stance. For those of us who have
attended one or numerous Rules seminars, Ahn’s action is a classic example of a
breach of Rule 13-3. A player is
entitled to dig into the sand as described in Decision 13-4/0.5, “a certain
amount of digging in with the feet in the sand or soil is permitted when taking
a stance for a stroke.” However,
knocking down sand from the side of a bunker to help gain a more level stance
is not covered as “digging in” but rather is considered a breach of Rule 13-3
and is covered in Decision 13-3/3:
Q. A player
knocks down the side of a bunker with his foot in an effort to get his feet on
the same level. Is this permissible?
A. No. Such an
action constitutes building a stance in breach of Rule 13-3.
When trying to decipher between
“digging in” and “building” the clearest separation is whether a player has to
lift their feet again to settle into the stance. When you dig in your feet, you swish them around in the
sand, but in order to build a stance you must lift your foot out of its initial
spot and push more sand around from another location (side slope or
otherwise). This is not a firm and
fast Rule, because there are certainly exceptions, but if you see someone on
the wrong side of the line it is important to take a second look, which is
exactly what the R & A did in this situation.
No comments:
Post a Comment