So it
was a relatively exciting weekend for the Rules, at least on a few
occasions. I knew eventually the Tours
would have something for me to share. So
the weekend in review:
Rule 26-2 in Action:
Because
Tour players are so darn good it is extremely rare to see one have to use Rule
26-2. On the 8th hole during
the Arnold Palmer Invitational’s third round, however, Ernie Els learned how
useful it is to have the “Regression Rule.”
Ernie hit
his second shot on the reachable par five hole onto the grass bank short of the
green but within the margin of the hazard.
He tried to play the ball from the grass bank (eventual controversy to
be discussed in a minute) and it went back into the hazard. Without the regression Rule, Ernie would be
in quite a pickle, however, when a player plays from within a water hazard only
to come to rest in that same water hazard, Rule 26-2 provides the player the
option of proceeding directly to the last place where a stroke was made from
outside the hazard with a one-stroke penalty.
Ernie took that option and went back to the fairway where he had
initially played his second stroke and finished out the hole for a crowd pleasing
8.
Controversy
followed, because while Ernie was debating whether or not to play his ball in
the hazard, his club came perilously close to touching the ground, and from the
television view, he appeared to have grounded his club in breach of Rule
13-4. Officials reviewed the footage
which they deemed inconclusive so when Els arrived at scoring they made sure to
ask him whether he had grounded his club.
He answer that he had touched the grass but had not “soled” his club, so
they did not issue a penalty because he was not in breach of Rule 13-4. Remember, the Note to Rule 13-4 permits the
player to touch with his club or otherwise, grass or any growing thing in a
hazard provided the ground in the hazard is not touched.
Whoops! Keegan’s “Rookie”
Mistake:
During
the final round of the Arnold Palmer Invitational, Keegan Bradley was issued a
two-stroke penalty for a breach of 13-2.
The breach? He brushed sand lying
through the green, off of his line of play.
Because sand and loose soil are only loose impediments when lying on the
putting green, Rule 13-2 prohibits a player from improving his line of play by
removing sand or loose soil when lying through the green. Remember that Rory McIlroy was penalized
two-strokes for this same breach at Abu Dhabi several years ago.
“I was just scared of
the bees!”
During
the final round of the LPGA Founders Cup in Arizona, the eventual champion Hyo
Joo Kim found herself near a tree with a bee hive in the higher branches. Scared that she might be in danger of being
stung, she asked a Rules Official if she could get relief. The official denied her relief stating that
her ball wasn’t near the hive and the bees were not swarming. She appealed, and the second official also
denied her relief. She was trying to get relief in accordance with Decision
1-4/10 which provides relief to players from dangerous situations; namely
rattlesnakes or bees. Since her ball was lying through the green, she would
have been entitled to drop the ball within one club-length of the nearest spot,
no nearer the hole that was not dangerous, not in a hazard and not on the
putting green. However, since she was denied relief, she had to play the ball
as it lay. Fortunately she went on to
win the event.
It was
an interesting choice by the Rules Officials and I believe a good one. In order to apply the dangerous situation
decision there must be an eminent danger.
If the player were allergic to bees, perhaps the danger would have been
more dire, however since the player was simply nervous about them, and the bees
were not close or in swarming formation (information that officials gather
prior to the event in order to be prepared for such an occurrence), she was not
entitled to relief. Had the officials provided relief, I believe that would
have been ok as well. Typically I would
rather err on the side of caution when dealing with bees, especially if they
might be Africanized, but that is why it is important as an official to know
the landscape (and inhabitants) of the golf course so you know whether there is
or is not actually a danger from the insects.
No comments:
Post a Comment