While Play is suspended at the
WGC-Accenture Match Play because it is snowing in Marana, Arizona – heavily I
might add – I think it’s the appropriate time to take a look at something very
important to match play… Claims.
You have likely heard about the “two-ball”
rule, or Rule 3-3 which allows a player to play out the hole with two balls in
the event that they are unsure how to proceed or have a doubtful situation. Many do not realize that this Rule only
applies to stroke play. In match play, a
player is not permitted to complete the hole with two balls in the event of a
doubtful situation. In fact, Decision
3-3/9 explains that a second ball played in match play is a wrong ball, and
will result in the player losing the hole if a claim is made.
So how do you resolve a dispute or
doubtful situation in match play? You
make a claim. I mentioned that a second
ball in match play is a wrong ball and the player loses the hole if a claim is
made. If a claim is not made, what
happens – nothing. The hole will stand
as played with the original ball.
In stroke play, it matters that the
correct procedure is followed on every hole and so a breach such as a wrong
ball, or a serious breach of playing from a wrong place must be corrected. It matters because you’re not playing against
one person, but the entire field. In
match play, your opponent (or opponents) is the only player concerned with your
score. So if they are ok with an
incorrect procedure they do not have to call a penalty. Always remember that even in match play you
cannot agree to waive a Rule of Golf, however, Note 1 to Rule 2-5 states, “A
player may disregard a breach of the Rules by his opponent provided there is no
agreement by the sides to waive a Rule.”
So when a doubtful situation arises, or you believe a breach of the
Rules has occurred, a claim must be made.
But you can’t just make a claim all
willy-nilly. There is a correct
procedure and timeframe that must be followed in order for the Committee to
consider a claim. First, the player must
notify his opponent that he is making a claim or wants a ruling, and he must
state the facts upon which the claim or ruling is to be based. Decision 2-5/2 discussed the kinds of
statements that do and do not constitute valid claims. Basically, if you want a ruling or want to
make a claim, you should say that – exactly that.
A claim must also be made in a
timely manner and must otherwise fit into the guidelines set by Rule 2-5. Rule 2-5 clarifies how a valid claim is made
at different times throughout the round.
Sometimes you don’t become aware that a breach occurred until a later
hole or even after the round. There are
different stipulations to make the claim valid in those cases. What is clear, however, is that you cannot
hold onto a known breach of the Rules until needed. For example, if you notice that your opponent
has started the round with 15 clubs, but on the 15th hole you’re 2
down and want to even the match, you cannot then make a claim. The fact that there were 15 clubs was not
previously unknown to you.
Rule 2-5 can be complicated, so rather
than trying to explain every intricacy I’ve broken the Rule down into the chart
below. Hopefully this will help increase
your understanding of Rule 2-5, claims and match play in general.
Rule
2-5: Making a Valid Claim
Timely Manner
A claim
has been made in a timely manner if made as follows:
a. During the Round – Before any player
has played from the next teeing ground
b. On the Final Hole of the Round – Before
all players have left the putting green
c. After Leaving the Final Putting Green –
Before the result of the match has been announced
The circumstances or violation
giving rise to the claim became known…
On the Hole in Question (Violation occurred on the same
hole)
Claim is
valid if -
a. Made in a timely manner
On a Later Hole (Violation occurred on a prior
hole)
Claim is
valid if -
a. Made in timely manner AND
b. The facts were previously unknown to
the player AND
c. The player had been given wrong
information
After the Result of the Match has
been announced
Claim is
valid if -
a. The facts were previously unknown to
the player at the time the result was announced AND
b. The player had been given wrong
information AND
c. The opponent knew he had given wrong information
No comments:
Post a Comment