Amidst
the controversy surrounding last week’s ruling that depending on whom you talk
to, either went dramatically in favor of or against Tiger Woods, let’s take a
look back over the years of various rules situations that have involved the
world’s number one.
10. Whoops!
Stevie Drops 9-iron into the Water
During the 2006
Ryder Cup, Steve Williams was dipping his towel into the water to get it
wet. He was also holding onto the
9-iron Tiger had previously used.
In one of the funnier Rules incidents of the recent past, he
accidentally drops it into the water, well out of reach.
Decision 4-3/10
tells us that a player is not entitled to replace a club that has been lost
during the round. Because Tiger
had started with 14 clubs, he was not permitted to add another club to replace
it either. If he had done so he
would have been in breach of Rule 4-4a for selecting 15 clubs for play during
his round and would have been subject to a two-stroke penalty for each hole he
carried the additional club.
As it goes, he
played on without the 9-iron, which was eventually returned to him by a zealous
fan and he won the match against Robert Karlsson 3 & 2.
9. Tiger
in a Tree
Earlier
this year during the third round of the WGC-Cadillac Championship at Doral,
Tiger managed to get his ball stuck in a palm tree after his tee shot on the 17th
hole. When Tiger’s ball ended in the tree, if he
could not identify it himself he had only one option – return to the tee under
penalty of stroke and distance under Rule 27-1. By definition if the ball
is not identified as his within 5 minutes, the original ball is lost and he
must proceed under Rule 27-1. (Note also, under Rule 28 – Ball
Unplayable – he is not required to identify the ball if he proceeds under Rule
28a, which is proceeding under stroke and distance).
If he could identify the ball as his, he would be permitted to drop the ball
under Rule 28c using the point on the ground directly beneath where the ball
lay in the tree as the reference point for taking relief (see Decision 28/11).
Tiger used binoculars to identify the golf ball, which is permissible even if
he didn’t retrieve the golf ball (see Decision 27/14). Because he
identified the ball he was entitled to declare the ball unplayable and proceed
under Rule 28c, dropping a ball within two club-lengths of the spot on the
ground directly underneath the ball in the tree under penalty of one stroke. He
made bogey on 17, but ended the day with a four-stroke lead going into the
final round.
8. The
(Im)movable Cables
During
the 2007 Open Championship at Carnoutsie, Tiger’s ball on the 10th
hole came to rest on top of some television cables. Cables are typically considered movable obstructions. Since his ball came to rest on top of
them, he was entitled to proceed under Rule 24-1 by lifting the ball, removing
the cables and dropping the ball on the spot directly underneath where it
originally lay without penalty.
The
Rules Official with the group ruled that it would be impracticable for Tiger to
remove the cables and gave Tiger relief for an Immovable obstruction. He had Tiger proceed under Rule 24-2b
by dropping within one club-length of his nearest point of relief. This gave Tiger a much better lie and
an option in the area he could drop in.
A
TV reporter later moved the cables without much effort and complained to the R
& A that the Official had ruled incorrectly. The R & A sided with their official and that was the end
of that.
7. Pace
of Play
During
the final round of the 2009 WGC Bridgestone Invitational at Firestone, Tiger
and Padraig Harrington were having a spectacular battle for the title. According to officials, they were 13
minutes behind pace on the 12th hole and then come the 16th,
they were 17 minutes behind the group in front of them. Official John Paramor told Tiger and
Padraig they were being timed and Padraig proceeded to triple bogey the hole,
rushing his approach and chip shot around the green.
No
penalties were assessed for slow play, but there is still some question whether
Tiger was fined for his post-round criticism of Paramor. He, rather politely actually, stated it
was shame that Paramor intervened in such a great back-and-forth. The Tour announced they would fine
Tiger for the criticism and then Tiger later said the Tour would not fine
him. Who knows what actually
occurred.
It’s
worth noting that it seems John Paramor – Chief Rules Official for the European
Tour – seems to be the only men’s Tour official willing to actually act on pace
of play issues. He penalized
George Coetzee during the final round of an European Tour event last month and
more recently has been unfairly demonized as the official who gave 14-year old
Tianlang Guan a one stroke pace of play penalty during the second round of the
Masters. As far as I’m concerned,
keep up the good work, just make sure you give the penalties consistently…
6. Where’d
It Go?
During
the second round of the 2012 Wells Fargo Championship at Quail Hollow, Tiger
hit his tee shot wayward on the par-5 5th hole. When they got to the spot where the
ball should have been, it was nowhere to be found. PGA Tour VP of Rules and Competitions and the Official in
charge of the competition, Mark Russell, was on site with Tiger and began
gathering facts.
He
asked if anyone had seen the ball, and after a slight pause, one spectator
spoke up and said he had seen the ball drop straight down from the trees into a
little bit of a clearing. He said
that spectators had rushed around the ball and then quickly dispersed. When
they had dispersed the ball was gone.
Based
on this information, Russell ruled that he was virtually certain that an
outside agency (spectator) had stolen and moved the golf ball and Rule 18-1
applied. Tiger was allowed to
substitute a ball (Note 1 to Rule 18 permits a player to substitute a ball when
the original is not immediately recoverable) and drop it as near as possible to
the spot the witness alleged that it originally lay (see Rule 20-3c). There was some hullaballoo about Tiger
getting a good break on the ruling and that the ball should have been
considered lost. Perhaps. Or perhaps the testimony from the
spectator was accurate and Tiger was in fact entitled to the drop. I’ll go with the latter.
5. Roof
Jumping
On the 9th hole during the 2009 WGC-Bridgestone
Invitational, Tiger’s approach took a hard bounce and in clear sight of
television cameras ended up on the Firestone clubhouse roof. By definition, since the clubhouse was
not defined as out of bounds, it was actually an immovable obstruction. Based on television, spectator and
other eye-witness testimony, it was known that the ball had come to rest on the
roof of the clubhouse. Because it
was known that the ball, which had not officially been found, was in the limits
of the obstruction, Tiger was entitled to free relief in accordance with Rule
24-3.
They determined the point where the ball last crossed the
outermost limits of the obstruction (clubhouse) and the ball was deemed to lie
at that point. Tiger could then
drop within one club-length of his nearest point of relief. Coincidentally, Tiger then had
interference from the grandstands, which were temporary immovable
obstructions. Because a player may
obtain relief for interference on his line of play from a TIO, Tiger was then
able to get relief to a perfectly clear shot to the green.
Many felt that it was a bad ruling and that the clubhouse should
have been marked as out of bounds.
As an official, I think that is accurate, but the bottom line is that it
was not. The clubhouse was not out
of bounds, and Tiger was absolutely entitled to the relief he received because
of that. Time to remember that the
Rules are here to help, not penalize.
4. Sandy
Tiger
During the second round of the Abu Dhabi Championship on
the 5th hole,
Tiger’s drive landed in an area of sand and vines. Tiger looked at his
ball and believed it was embedded. He called his fellow-competitor Martin
Kaymer to confirm that the ball was indeed embedded. Tiger proceeded to
take relief and played the ball.
Unfortunately, you are not entitled to relief for a ball that is embedded in
sand. The European Tour and most major golf associations use the Local
Rule in Appendix I that allows relief for a ball that is embedded through
the green. The term through the green does include sand by
definition, “Through the green is the whole area of the course except
the teeing ground and putting green of the hole being played and all hazards on
the course.” However, the Local Rule providing for relief through the
green has an exception: “A player may not take relief under this Local Rule if
the ball is embedded in sand in an area that is not closely mown.”
Sadly for
Tiger, a bed of vines is not a closely mown area and therefore he was not
entitled to take relief in his situation. Because the Local Rule did not
apply Tiger's lifting of the ball and failure to replace it was a breach
of Rule 18-2a for which the penalty is two strokes. European Tour Chief
Referee Andy McFee informed Tiger of this on the 11th tee after confirming the
breach on the television recording. Although it seems clear from his
quotes that Tiger did not like the ruling, McFee says he did not question
it. It is easy to understand the confusion, but it is also important to know
the Rules.
3. The
Infamous Drop – Part 1
There
is no doubt that this ruling belongs on any Tiger Ruling top ten list. In fact, this is going to take up two
spots on my list. One will go for
the ruling itself, and the second for the blundering way it was handled.
On
the 15th hole during the second round of the 2013 Masters, Tiger’s
approach rattled off the flagstick and into the water hazard. He took a drop, proceeding as we found
out, under what was a hybrid of 26-1a and 26-1b. At the time, only several keen eyes noticed something might
be wrong with the drop, and one of those sets of eyes called in.
Tiger
then made a monumental misstep announcing that he had purposely dropped two
yards (it turned out to be closer to 2-3 feet) behind the initial spot. Tiger
was assessed a two-stroke penalty the following morning, despite the fact that
he had failed to include the penalty on his score card for which he had signed
and returned. The discussion
surrounding this is still ongoing.
2. The
Infamous Drop – Part 2
The
Masters Committee has explained the ruling thusly: The Committee was notified of a potential breach by a viewer
prior to Tiger completing his round.
They reviewed the footage and ruled that there was no breach. Because of this review they decided not
to discuss the drop with Tiger prior to returning his score card. After his post-round comments, they
called Tiger in on Saturday morning to review the situation and invoked Rule
33-7 to waive the disqualification penalty he would have been subject to. Their reasoning, is that it was their
own monumental mistake not to discuss the situation with Tiger prior to
returning his card. As it was their duty to bring the potential infraction to
his attention at that time and they failed in that duty, they felt it was
appropriate to waive the disqualification penalty and assess the appropriate
two-stroke penalty for playing from a wrong place in breach of Rule 26-1a.
In
the news, this handling of Rule 33-7 has turned the actual Rule into a
joke. Kendra Graham provided
possibly the best explanation in an article you can find on
GolfChannel.com. In my own article
I argue that using 33-7 was incorrect.
My argument is that the Committee was simply correcting an incorrect
ruling, and assessing the penalty once they discovered that they had
erred. Decision 34-3/1 permits
this action. The argument against
me is that most rulings where 34-3/1 would apply involve actually talking to
the player. I can see both points
of view. For another opinion supporting 34-3/1 see also former USGA Director of Rules John Morrissett's post at Erin Hill's Facebook page.
My
issue is that, while 33-7 is intentionally broad and ultimately up to Committee
discretion, the Decisions we do have that give guidance on how to use it (see
the second half of Decision 33-7/4.5, the first half is not applicable), tell
us that 33-7 should not be used in this situation. The Committee, however, is always entitled to correct an
incorrect ruling provided that the competition has not closed.
Ultimately
what should be taken from this situation is:
1) If any doubt arises as to the correctness of the player’s score
card (see Decision 6-6d/5) or to a player’s procedure TALK TO THEM AT SCORING.
2)
The Committee is always right. Agree or disagree, the Masters
Committee made a ruling. The more
I study it, the more I am comfortable with the ruling itself, I’m just not
comfortable with how they got there.
3)
Rule 33-7 is not a new Rule. It has been around since 1952 and
should be used sparingly. This
year’s ruling was an incredibly unique situation. Argued in the right manner (as Kendra Graham does), 33-7 was
used appropriately. Argued in the
right manner (as I and several others do) 33-7 was not used as it should have
been. Ultimately it is the
Committee’s decision, and the Committee’s decision is final (Rule 34-3).
1. Tiger’s
Boulder
Anyone
who has ever studied the Rules remembers Tiger’s boulder. After hitting his tee shot into the
desert on the par-5 13th hole at the TPC of Scottsdale during the
final round of the 1999 Phoenix Open, his ball was directly behind an extremely
large rock.
Tiger
started looking at the rock and testing it a little. It was determined that the rock was not embedded and was therefore
a loose impediment (see Decision 23-1/2).
He then enlisted the help of spectators and others to help move the rock
out of the way, also permissible within the Rules (see Decision 23-1/2). Ken Venturi in the TV booth was going
what can only be called “nuts” that Tiger was being permitted to do this.
As
you will hear in Rules School, however, the Decisions that permitted these
actions had been in place long before Tiger ever had that boulder moved. Decision 23-1/2 tells us that stones of
any size that are not solidly embedded are loose impediments and may be removed
so long as the removal does not unduly delay play. Decision 23-1/3 permits a p[layer to receive assistance in
removing a large loose impediment from spectators, caddies, fellow-competitors
or others.
No comments:
Post a Comment