At Monday’s U.S. Open Local
Qualifying at Butte Creek, we got a taste of what the PGA Tour has been facing
all year long – weather. On the Saturday
night prior to the event, a nasty storm with tornado watch came through and
covered the course in debris, including a downed tree on the fifth hole. The grounds crew did a spectacular job
cleaning up for the qualifying and few of the players could have known how
nasty the winds had been just two days before.
Nor was that their concern, however, as a batch of rain and wind of
their own came through that Monday morning, increasing the pro shop profits
significantly due to players and spectators who were caught completely off
guard by rain in Chico in May.
(This
little guy came prepared with pint-sized umbrella and all)
The rain didn’t cause much havoc
with the Rules, but it did bring up one interesting situation that we hear
about in Rules School and on Rules Exams across the country.
The 17th hole at Butte
Creek Country Club is a long par three over water. The teeing ground side of the water hazard is
low-lying and with the rains the club received the water overflowed the margin
of the hazard. Fortunately, I knew this
and was able to prepare my crew of volunteer officials for the possibility of
an equity situation.
First, we have to remember what the
status of that overflow water is.
Decision 25/2 tells us that water overflowing from the water hazard is
casual water. Only the water within the
margin of the water hazard is in the hazard.
So if we can see the ball in the casual water portion of the overflow,
the player is entitled to relief under Rule 25-1b.
Once
the ball is in the water, however, it is not always possible to tell whether it
is in the casual water or the water hazard.
Fortunately, one of the most commonly used Decisions to describe Equity
is Decision 1-4/7 where a ball is lost in either a water hazard or casual water
overflowing the hazard. This Decision
tells us that if the ball is not found, the player may not proceed with free
relief in accordance with Rule 25-1b, because it is not known that the ball is
in the casual water. So if the player
cannot find the ball, but we know the ball is in the water somewhere, the
player must proceed under Rule 26-1 with a one stroke penalty.
With
the caliber of players we had in the field, this situation did not come up, but
the potential was there and that is exactly why we have Equity.
No comments:
Post a Comment