At the
Boise Open, Ben Crane received a total of 8 penalty strokes and it had nothing
to do with a scorecard mistake. Let’s take a closer look at the situation to
see the Rules in action behind it:
The Violation (as a
whole)
Crane first noticed that he had left the dot sticker (used
to collect TrackMan data) on his driver on the 11th tee, and then
later noticed at the 14th hole that he had left the dot sticker also
on his 6-iron. Unfortunately, the dot stickers are external attachments and
much like adhesive tape (see Decision 4-1/5) they render a club non-conforming
when not removed. The good news for Crane, he only carried the non-conforming
clubs, he did not use them.
The First Penalty
The penalty in stroke play for carrying, but not using a
non-conforming club is two strokes for every hole at which the breach occurred
with a maximum penalty of four strokes per round (Rule 4-1). When Crane
discovered his driver in breach of the Rules he was between the play of two
holes. The penalty statement for Rule 4-1 and 4-2 says a breach discovered
between the play of two holes is deemed to have been discovered during play of
the next hole, which means Crane was deemed to be in breach of Rule 4-1
for two holes. This resulted in two penalty strokes on his first hole (the 10th
hole) AND his second hole (the 11th) for a total of four penalty
strokes. Furthermore, the club in breach
of the Rules (his driver) had to be declared out of play for the rest of the
round.
The Second Penalty
A few holes later on the 14th hole, Crane
discovered that the dot sticker was also still on his 6-iron. This is
considered a completely separate violation because of the new discovery. For those who think this is harsh, look at it
this way: when he discovered the dot on his driver he should have ensured that
all his clubs were free of the dot stickers.
So Crane incurred two additional penalty strokes in each of his first
two holes (the 10th and 11th holes) because those were
the first two holes he was in violation.
And again, he was required to declare
the 6-iron out of play for the rest of his round.
So the end result is that Crane incurred a total of 8
penalty strokes that were incurred as two separate four penalty stroke
situations and applied to the score card as four separate two-stroke penalties.
I still say that may not be the worst of it, because he still had to play the
remainder of his round – without a driver and 6-iron.
Crane doesn’t mention having to declare the clubs out of
play in his interview, but that is what the Rules require if you ever find
yourself in that situation.
UPDATE: Crane late talked to officials and explained that he was aware of the 6-iron dot sticker at the time he was dealing with the driver dot sticker. Since he failed to declare the 6-iron out of play immediately he was disqualified. The Tour's explanation that I tweeted ran a fairly good summary.
UPDATE: Crane late talked to officials and explained that he was aware of the 6-iron dot sticker at the time he was dealing with the driver dot sticker. Since he failed to declare the 6-iron out of play immediately he was disqualified. The Tour's explanation that I tweeted ran a fairly good summary.
Was he later DQ'd because it was discovered that he had used his 6 iron? Or did I get this part of the story wrong?
ReplyDeleteEither way, thanks for the great explanation.