Just
when I thought there was a slight Rules lull, we have another phoned-in viewer
notification that results in a two-stroke penalty.
The
ruling that eventually went against Stacy Lewis at the 3rd round of
the RR Donnelly LPGA Founders Cup in Arizona certainly had some
controversy. After the initial
viewings I strongly believed the LPGA had it wrong. At first, I thought they had it wrong because I didn’t see
the action, then I wasn’t sure they dug far enough into the Rule. Unfortunately, for Stacy, they did get
it right.
On
the 16th hole, Lewis found herself in the fairway bunker. While trying to figure out her play,
her caddie walked into the bunker as well. At a point in the conversation where they were discussing
the depth of the sand, her caddie could be seen twisting his foot ever so
slightly as if to test that depth.
It seemed innocent enough, but 13-4 does not permit the player, and by
extension the caddie, to test the surface of the hazard in this manner.
I
initially found fault with the ruling because if you read Decision 13-4/0.5, it
specifically permits the player to dig in slightly with her feet in preparation
for a stroke or practice swing. It
even permits the player to do so (and by extension the caddie) anywhere in the
bunker. But before I get to the catch, I’m going to sidetrack to a ruling at
last year’s Stanford U.S. Intercollegiate.
During
the final round, the USC coach came in to me for a ruling regarding an Oregon
player. We had heavy rains the day
before and many bunkers had muddy and sandy areas. The player in question took a stance for a practice swing
very close to the golf ball because it was the only area with a similar
condition to where the golf ball lay rather than where he would normally take
his stance. He dug in slightly and
the USC coach was calling this into question. The player even stated he took the stance where he did to
test the condition of the hazard.
This seemed damning enough.
However, 13-4/0.5 specifically permits this action anywhere in a
hazard. So long as he didn’t
improve his lie with respect to 13-2, there was no breach. We confirmed this with the USGA. They confirmed that the provisions of
13-4/0.5 override the fact that he used the phrase “testing the condition” specifically
because this form of testing was explicitly permitted.
It
was with that ruling in mind that I initially had trouble wrapping my fingers
around this one. I give credit to
a colleague who made sure to point out the difference: he wasn’t taking a stance or mimicking
a stance preparatory for a stroke.
He was just wiggling his toe around in the sand. It is this key difference that makes
the action a breach of Rule 13-4a.
Had he taken a stance and wiggled around as you normally would for a
bunker shot, there is nowhere in the Rules that I find a penalty.
You
have to wonder, if Stacy had not made a comment about the depth of the sand
would he have dug his toe in? It
seemed pretty reactionary. Just a
bit of bad timing.
You can also read the USGA Manager of Rules Commmunications John Van der Borght's article on the incident here.
You can also read the USGA Manager of Rules Commmunications John Van der Borght's article on the incident here.
No comments:
Post a Comment