The
answers to the MGA Rules Quiz are now available at the MGA’s website. Ryan Gregg and myself made our guesses
following the arrival of this year’s quiz, and I am dismayed to see that we
have 4 answers different.
To see the complete answer and reference list Click Here
Of
those, however, I am thoroughly convinced I have a good argument against two of the MGA answers. One great thing about this Rules quiz is that there are usually several questions that have no official answer yet. I am going to review the four questions
and answers here:
Question 7
Competitor A swings and misses his tee shot. He tees the ball lower, takes another
swing and drives the ball down the fairway. His fellow-competitor B then swings and misses his tee
shot. He decides he doesn’t want
to use a tee and drops the ball where the tee had been and steps on the turf
behind the ball to remove irregularities of surface. Competitor B then drives the ball down the fairway. What do competitors A and B now lie?
a.
A lies 2 and B lies 2
b.
A lies 3 and B lies 2
c.
A lies 3 and B lies 3
d.
A lies 3 and B lies 4
We answered C.
The correct answer according to the MGA is B. We answered C based on Decision 18-2a/1, which applies the
stroke and distance penalty to the player A situation. We determined that player B basically
did the same thing. Here the catch
is that the tee is a movable obstruction.
Under Rule 24-1b if the ball lies in or on the obstruction
the player may remove the obstruction and drop it as near as possible to the
spot beneath the spot where the ball lay on the obstruction. Decision 25-2/8 specifically discusses
relief situations on the teeing ground. Touché MGA.
Question 10
A player’s tee shot on a 200-yard par-3 comes to rest in a
greenside bunker. He decides his
ball is unplayable and takes relief by dropping a ball behind the point where
the ball lay keeping that point directly between the hole and the spot on which
the ball is dropped but the point is outside the bunker. He addresses the ball and the ball
moves. He replaces the ball, plays
to the green and holes the putt.
Before he leaves the green he is informed that he was supposed to have
dropped in the bunker and fearing he may have committed a serious breach of
playing from a wrong place he drops a ball inside the bunker in accordance with
28b. He plays the ball onto the green and holes the putt. The player reports the facts to the
Committee. The Committee should
rule the player has scored:
a.
4
b.
5
c.
6
d.
7
We answered C.
The player made 3 actual strokes.
He also had 1 penalty stroke for the ball unplayable and 2 for playing
from a wrong place. Note 2 to Rule
20-7c states that strokes made with the ball ruled not to count and any penalty
strokes incurred solely by playing that ball are disregarded. We did not give him a penalty stroke
under 18-2b for that reason. The
MGA answer is D.
The argument here is about that penalty stroke under
18-2b. Even though the movement of
the ball preceded the playing from the wrong place, I believe that penalty stroke
was incurred solely by playing the ball ruled not to count. Clearly, the MGA is ruling that the
timing matters and that the 18-2b penalty should stick. Decision 20-7c/5 specifically states
18-2a as one of the kinds of penalties that are disregarded under Note 2 to
20-7c, meaning 18-2b is also one of those kinds of penalties. I think it is a stretch here to stick
the player with the additional one stroke.
Question 14
While entering the bunker to play his ball, a player
inadvertently kicks a stick lying in the bunker and the stick strikes his ball
moving it several inches. The player plays the ball from its new position. The player has incurred a:
a.
One stroke penalty
b.
Two stroke penalty
c.
Three stroke penalty
d.
Four stroke penalty
We answered D, giving the player two penalty strokes for
moving the loose impediment in a hazard when his ball lies in the same hazard
and an additional two penalty strokes for failing to replace the moved
ball. The correct MGA answer is B. What we missed were Decisions 13-4/13
and 13-4/13.5 which specifically allow the player to accidentally move loose
impediments in a hazard when approaching the ball so long as the movement
doesn’t affect the lie with respect to 13-2. The player is only penalized two
strokes for failing to replace the moved ball. Touché MGA.
Question 25
Competitor is unaware the ball is in a water hazard. He addresses the ball and a gust of
wind causes his ball to move. The
player picks up the ball and places it in its original position. He then learns that his ball lies
in a water hazard and he proceeds to take relief under Rule 26. The player has incurred:
a.
1 penalty stroke
b.
2 penalty strokes
c.
3 penalty strokes
d.
4 penalty strokes
We answered D.
You are not able to address the ball in a hazard without incurring the
general penalty under Rule 13-4 (see 18-2b/2). So that is 2 strokes.
He takes relief from the water hazard. That is 3 strokes.
The MGA’s answer is C. The
final stroke and debate surrounds the ball at rest. When the gust of wind caused the ball to move, it should
have been played from where it came to rest. Despite the fact that a player may not address the ball
without penalty in a hazard, because he did address the ball 18-2b applied. Because a gust of wind caused the ball
to move, the Exception to 18-2b applied.
When the player lifted his ball in play, he was not aware he
was in a hazard and would be taking relief. Therefore he incurred a 1 stroke penalty under 18-2a. When he subsequently learned he was in
a water hazard he was not required to replace the ball but could proceed under
Rule 26. The stroke for moving his
ball at rest does not go away.
That, is 4 strokes. See
Decision 12-1/5 for a situation where a ball at rest in a hazard is moved and
the player subsequently takes relief under Rule 26. The player incurs the one stroke for the initial movement.
No comments:
Post a Comment