Yesterday
at the Open Championship there was an interesting exchange regarding a
situation with JB Holmes on the 15th hole. JB Holmes was looking for TIO relief out of a
very difficult lie. The walking referee
called a rover for a second opinion and European Tour official John Paramor did not grant the relief. Holmes was not happy with the decision and
let it affect his play and discussed the situation after the round.
The
situation and wait caused a tremendous backup on the course and the discussion in
the TV booth ensued. The booth first
asserted that a player is entitled to the second opinion. JR Jones from the R & A then came on and
correctly stated that a player is not entitled
to a second opinion, however, a wise Rules Official will always offer to obtain
a second opinion in doubtful situations.
Paul Azinger then foolishly decided to debate that statement by saying
that in the States, a player is entitled to a second opinion.
Azinger’s
statement is 100% wrong. Rule 34-2 is
clear: “If a referee has been appointed by the Committee, his decision is
final.” This means that a referee’s
ruling is the final decision, a
player does not have the right to a
second opinion, it is merely the best practice to get a second opinion when
asked (and we always instruct officials that they absolutely should offer to
obtain a second opinion). So please note, there are not two sets of Rules for
Europe and the United States. JR Jones
correctly stated that a player is not entitled to the second opinion. When
watching championships on television, please make sure to take any Rules
statement from an announcer with a grain of salt. I'm hoping that Jones corrected Azinger in the booth off the air after that exchange.
At major championships a senior
Rules official or staff member from the hosting organization is usually present
in the booth to offer the correct ruling. When an announcer disagrees with that
ruling, the announcer is usually wrong.
No comments:
Post a Comment