Over the past month or so there
have been several interesting rulings involving the “One Ball” Condition. The NCGA does not use the “One Ball Rule” in
its competitions, but this time of year we are running a lot of USGA Qualifying
sites and so issues with the “One Ball” condition come up.
For those who are unaware what the
“One Ball” condition is, it is an optional Condition of the competition that
requires the player to play the exact same model and brand as detailed by a
single entry on the List of Conforming Golf Balls (see Appendix I-C-1c). This means that you could not use a Top-Flite
distance ball on the par-5 holes and then switch to an ultra-spin ball for the
par-3 holes. (Or as you'll find out, it means you can't use a yellow ball to start, and then a white version of the same ball).
I’m going to work backwards in time
starting with the most recent situation
Breach on the Final
Hole
During
US Amateur Sectional Qualifying at Diablo Country Club, a player breached the
“One Ball” condition on the final hole of the second 18-holes. He had hit his last ball of the correct model
out of bounds and lost, and knowingly put into play a different model ball to
finish the round. The player came into
scoring convinced that he was disqualified. But that’s not what the Rule
says. The penalty for a breach of the
condition in stroke play is two strokes for each hole at which the breach
occurred with a maximum of four total penalty strokes per round. Moreover, the Condition does not require the
player to abandon the ball immediately; he must make sure to play the proper
ball from the next teeing ground. Well,
there is no next teeing ground in this case.
So when
the player came into scoring, he had already written the letters DQ in on his
final hole. When I asked him if he holed
out with the incorrect model ball, he said yes and he was shocked when I told
him he was not disqualified, but had to apply a two-stroke penalty to the final
hole. He laughed because he played the
hole so poorly that he had to ask his marker to help determine his score for
the hole. Needless to say, the very nice
gentleman did not qualify.
Hale Irwin at the US
Senior Open
While
we do run into breaches of the “One Ball” condition regularly at qualifying
stages, it is incredibly rare to see a breach at the championship level. On the 16th hole at the US Senior
Open (I was walking down the adjacent 8th with my group), I
overheard on the radio a call that I couldn’t quite believe. The referee was
confirming the penalty for a breach of the “One Ball Rule” by Hale Irwin. Irwin had hit his ball into the water hazard
and had to drop another ball. His caddie
grabbed a ball from the bag, Irwin dropped and played. When Irwin marked his ball on the green he
realized he had a problem. Irwin told the referee with his group who confirmed the two-stroke penalty and he had to play the correct model of play at
the next teeing ground.
I was
penalized under the “One Ball” Rule once in US Amateur Qualifying and I never
carried more than one model of ball in my bag ever again. I’m still amazed there was even another kind
of ball in the bag.
Yellow vs. White
During
qualifying for the US Senior Open, there was a unique non-penalty situation
that occurred with one of the eventual qualifiers. One of our prominent senior amateurs typically
plays a yellow golf ball. On one hole,
he needed to hit a provisional and hit a white golf ball of the same make and
model as his provisional.
The
problem was, the white and the yellow versions of that same golf ball are
actually listed as separate entries on the List of Conforming Golf balls
meaning that if you start with a yellow ball, you need to play the yellow ball
all the way through the round. The
player found his original ball within five minutes of beginning to search for
it and continued with the yellow ball for the rest of the round.
But had
he breached the “One Ball” condition by playing the wrong kind of ball as the
provisional? The answer is no. Since the provisional ball never became the
ball in play, he was not in breach of the “One Ball” condition (see Decision
5-1/3 for support). Everyone exhaled and
the player went on to qualify and play in the US Senior Open.
No comments:
Post a Comment