Besides
having an absolutely gorgeous day at the site of last year’s U.S. Open, Monday’s
CGA Amateur qualifying at the Olympic Club's Ocean course went off virtually without a hitch. As far as rulings go, there were no difficult
rulings to be made with the exception of several players having to drop on the
cart path when obtaining relief under Rule 26 or 28. There was, however, a very interesting “non-ruling”
that occurred along with an interesting discussion that went back to the USGA
for a verdict.
Due to
a mishap with some caddies assigned through the club, a player with an injured
neck looked to be left carrying his own bag.
The player in question was physically unable to carry the bag for the
entire 18 holes and had been specifically warned by his doctor not to do
so. Through no fault of his own, the
caddie did not show up. Before deciding
to withdraw he said he would try a few holes while carrying the bag on his
other shoulder and see how it would go – perhaps the caddie would show up by
the third hole which ended up near the clubhouse.
At that
time, his fellow-competitor offered to sling the bag for those few holes to
help the player out. We had a conundrum
and it led to the question of the day – could a fellow-competitor be a caddie?
The
easy part of the answer is yes, with some stipulations. Decisions 6-4/8 and 6-4/9 tell us that it is
permissible for a fellow-competitor in the same competition to be a caddie for
another player. In 6-4/8, the players
are playing at different times, presumably a morning and an afternoon time, and
one is permitted to caddie for the other.
In 6-4/9, the player’s marker withdraws midway through the round and
then proceeds to caddie for the player as well as continuing as the
marker. This decision is important for
two reasons: 1) it permits a marker to also be a caddie and, 2) it is one of
several Decisions that give us precedent for when a person becomes a caddie, “A
became B’s caddie as well as his marker when he started carrying B’s clubs.”
The definition
of caddie states:
A “caddie” is one who assists the player in accordance with
the Rules, which may include carrying or handling the player’s clubs during
play.”
Nowhere in the definition does it state that carrying clubs
makes a person a caddie, only that a caddie’s duties may include doing so. It is not until Decision 6-4/4 and Decision
6-4/9 that we have instances where a person is considered a caddie solely
because he is carrying clubs. In 6-4/4
the young boy is doing nothing but carrying clubs, however he is considered a
caddie.
There
is one small loophole that could have helped our earlier friend with the
injured neck – Decision 6-4/4.5. This Decision
states that the casual act of assisting the player or his caddie do not constitute
a breach of Rule 6-4, meaning that a casual act of carrying clubs does not
necessarily make another person a caddie.
In this instance, the fellow-competitor only carries the clubs for a
brief amount of time, half of a hole perhaps.
It begs the question whether the Committee could consider a
fellow-competitors compassion and generosity a casual act if he were to carry
the clubs for an extended period of time?
I think the answer is no, there must be a limit. I don’t know what that limit might be.
So if
we’ve determined that the act of carrying another player’s clubs would make a
fellow-competitor a caddie. Show me
where in the Rules it says that a fellow-competitor cannot be caddie? Well?
I’m waiting… Found it yet? I bet
you haven’t, because there is no place in the Rules that specifically states
that a fellow-competitor cannot serve as a caddie while playing. So why then, after discussion, would our
source at the USGA state that it is not permissible?
It
takes a roundabout explanation but it makes sense. Rule 8-1 states a player must not give advice
to anyone in the competition playing on the course other than his partner. A caddie is specifically someone who is
permitted to give advice to a player.
Therefore, a player must not serve as a caddie to anyone else playing on
the course other than his partner (and if you think about it, it is irrelevant
whether a partner is a “caddie” because all relevant Rules would include both
partner and caddie in lockstep).
Someone
brought up Rules 18 and 19 to me as a possible bar to a fellow-competitor as a
caddie. It’s a fair argument but really,
that doesn’t prevent it the same way as 8-1.
Basically, the fellow-competitor would no longer be an outside agency
which would mean the player himself would incur penalties under 18-2 or 19-2
for breaches by the fellow-competitor (if he were the caddie) but it really
doesn’t affect the fellow-competitor because he would not incur penalties for
those breaches.
So the
bottom line is that a fellow-competitor cannot play and caddie at the same
time. Why? Because 8-1 would not permit
there to be such a person who is both permitted and not permitted to give
advice at the same time. Could he simply
carry the clubs? No. The extended act of carrying clubs for the
entire round would make the fellow-competitor a caddie by Decision.
Interesting
stuff, right?
Sorry for going back in history here Ryan, but I just recently discovered your blog (and love it!).
ReplyDeleteCould the player or the committee not simply have recruited someone from the gallery to caddie for the young man? Surely given his neck injury, someone would have been happy to step up and do it.
Was there something which prevented him or the committee from asking?
Wade,
DeleteThanks for reading. If there was a gallery of any significance the player certainly could have recruited someone to caddie for him. At CGA qualifying there are few people following along as spectators. It is not the responsibility of the Committee to recruit caddies for players, and from a Committee perspective, if you're really injured...withdraw.