It’s
been a bit of a whirlwind week for me and there’s plenty to cover and
discuss. I went from the 48th
Annual NCGA Four-Ball Championship, to playing (if you can call it that) in US
Open Local Qualifying at Pasatiempo, straight to the NCAA West Regional in
Eugene and am now in Half Moon Bay after setting up for US Women’s Open
Sectionals tomorrow. During all
that, life still went on and I’ll cover the best of the best from the past few
weeks.
The Four-Ball
One
of the best events and one of our biggest majors is the Four-Ball
Championship. A double-wave,
54-hole event held at Spyglass Hill.
It is incredibly fun to setup, but also an incredible grind to run. Days run from 5:00 in the morning until
9:00 at night and this year the wind gave us a special surprise, blowing about
25 constantly and gusting around 40 (at one point I had 5 stakes in a four-post
tent and still had to take the tent down unless I wanted to go parasailing).
My
notable ruling was an unfortunate two-stroke penalty for playing from a wrong
place. I was sitting in scoring
with a fellow staff member and he pointed and said the guy on the 18th
hole just dropped three times. I
ran out of the tent and started waving and giving the “stop” signal but he
didn’t see me and played.
I
drove up and first asked, “I just have to check, what were you dropping
for?” He told me he was taking
relief for his ball in an aeration hole (one of the down-sides of our schedule
at Spy is we do bump against their aeration schedule and this week the fairways
and intermediate cuts were aerated but not sanded). I asked him how many times he dropped and he answered,
“Three.” The alarms in my head
were already off and I asked why he dropped three times and the wrong answer
came out, “It kept rolling into aeration holes.”
The
local Rule for aeration holes is a “drop at the spot” relief procedure, meaning
there is no club-length for relief, you drop at the nearest spot to where the
ball was at rest in the aeration hole, no nearer the hole (the flagstick’s
hole). On our hard card we clarify
that all aeration holes in a given area are considered the same situation,
meaning that if a ball when dropped under this Rule rolls into a different
aeration hole, 20-2c applies and it’s a re-drop. So when it rolled into an aeration hole the second time this
player should have placed the ball at the spot where it first struck the course
on the re-drop. Since he didn’t do
that and then played from a different spot than required he incurred a
two-stroke penalty for playing from a wrong place. The good news was, it didn’t apply to his partner who made
par on the hole.
The “Animal House”
Regional
What
a great crew we had at Eugene and an absolutely amazing course! We had US Open like conditions (in a
good way) and a great field. Four
of the top five seeds and the host school all advanced and the #1 ranked
amateur (for now) in the world won by seven. Congrats to Stanford and Patrick Rodgers on yet another win
this year.
It
was actually one of the quietest events I’ve ever been to from a Rules
perspective, although there were several wrong place penalties.
On
the 5th hole, two drop zones were in play: one on the teeing ground
side of the water for a ball in the water hazard and one on the putting green
side as an additional option for a ball unplayable near an area of cart path
defined as an integral part of the course. Unfortunately we had a player who at first crossed the water
then bladed a shot from the back bunker into the water hazard use the putting
green side drop zone, incurring a two-stroke penalty for playing from a wrong
place. Because he was required to
go to the other side of the water hazard, this was deemed a serious breach and
fortunately Missy Jones was on-site to help the player correct the mistake
before playing from the next teeing ground. Sadly, he made an 11, but managed a 78, meaning he was even
the rest of the way around.
On
the 7th hole, a drop zone was provided for a ball in the water
hazard and we had a player whose ball was dropped correctly in the drop zone
but rolled outside the drop zone and nearer the hole, yet it stayed within two
club-lengths of where it first struck the course. Thinking he needed to re-drop because it rolled nearer the
hole, he picked up, dropped again and played. In the Appendix we get some special rules for dropping zones
that clarify that a ball can actually roll nearer the hole when using a
dropping zone. This clause exists
because dropping zones can and frequently are closer to the hole than where the
normal relief procedure and reference point would permit. He also received a two-stroke penalty
for playing from a wrong place and we informed the player of the special rules
in the Appendix to be familiar with in the future.
One
of the more interesting rulings came before the round and because the coach and
player asked before the round, no penalty occurred. A player had been struggling with his putter and so he put a
piece of adhesive tape on the top and extended the line from the back of the
putter so that the line went all the way from the front to back (mallet-style
putter). It was a little stumper
at first, because the Decision regarding adhesive tape asks a question about
adhesive tape for the purpose of reducing glare or for club protection. However, that Decision (4-1/5),
actually addresses the issue of adhesive tape in a very general manner, stating
that adhesive tape is not permanent and if affixed to a club would render the
club non-conforming: “An adhesive
bandage or tape added to the clubhead is considered an external attachment
rendering the club non-conforming.”
There are exceptions, however the decision goes on to state, “but an
adhesive bandage or tape does not fall under that exception because such items
are temporary and easily removable.”
He removed the tape and no penalty was incurred.
A
huge thanks to Dean Wormer (Jim Moriarty) for the invitation. It was an exceptional event, a
testament to his preparation and expertise and I hope to work many more. It was also fantastic to work with such
a great group including Missy Jones, Reed MacGregor, Keith Hansen, Kent
Newmark, Bob Planansky and our very own Tyler Tharpe, Ted Antonopolous and Lee
Gidney. We had fun with the event
and the theme (fyi, Animal House was filmed at the University of Oregon). I also want to thank Casey Martin and
the University of Oregon team and staff for the wonderful hospitality, as well
as Eugene Country Club for the same.
A special note of recognition for Chris, the superintendent who
obviously knows what he is doing. Prior
to the practice rounds I had trouble finding divots, let alone imperfections
with the course! See below for yourself.
 |
The Beautiful Par-Three 5th Hole. No, those aren't 6 bunkers, but a crystal clear reflection... |
 |
A nice shot to the devious final round hole location on the 15th hole. It was listed as 18.5 paces on the hole location sheet for precision. |
 |
Our very own VP Lee Gidney starting groups in the final round on the cathedral-like 1st hole. The trees give the effect that the hole might be a long par-three but is in fact a 400-plus yard par-four. |
Whoops! Decision 18/4
and Justin Rose
We
all know the situation so I won’t re-hash it too much. Rose was issued a two-stroke penalty
when he noticed a slight wiggle of his ball after address, but after agreement
from his fellow-competitor and a review of the movement on the jumbo-tron he
determined it did not move.
However, upon further review in the booth under 50x magnification the
Tour determined it did move and since Rose failed to replace the ball, he got
two-strokes for a breach of Rule 18-2b.
Enter
Decision 18/4. The new Decision
introduced in 2014 was designed exactly for a situation of this kind, however, PGA
Tour VP of Operations and Head Rules Official Mark Russell, at first determined
the new decision did not apply because Rose did notice some sort of
movement. The text reads, “When
the player’s ball has left its original position and comes to rest in another
place by an amount that was not reasonably discernible to the naked eye at the
time, a player’s determination that the ball has not moved will be deemed to be
conclusive, even if it is later shown to be incorrect through the use of
sophisticated technology.”
Why Russell thought the Decision
did not apply I’m not sure. Rose
used all available evidence and conferred with a fellow-competitor and didn’t
think the ball moved.
There are some murmurs in the Rules
community that there is some ambiguity in the new Decision where the Committee
has to make a judgment call whether the player could have reasonably determined
that the ball had moved with the naked eye, “On the other hand, if the
Committee determines, based on the evidence it has available, that the ball
changed its position by an amount that was reasonably discernible to the naked
eye at the time, the ball is deemed to have moved.” This clause, I believe, is more for a situation where the
ball moved enough to be seen clearly and the player wasn’t paying enough attention,
not for situations where the player notices oscillation but determines the ball
didn’t change its position.
I’d
love to know who at Golf House made the call to the Tour to inform them that
the Decision did apply to this case, because the next morning they Tour
rescinded the two-stroker, which gave Rose a decent chance and run at the
title.