On the 18th hole of the Memorial Tournament, just
a few moments ago, there was a little discussion about whether Bubba Wtason
could be subject to penalty when he accidentally touched his ball in addressing
it for his fourth shot. They got
it right on TV and as of now it appears the PGA Tour officials agree and there
are two main reasons why:
Under
Rule 18-2a, if Bubba was not deemed to have already addressed the ball, the
Rule allows a player to purposely or accidentally touch the ball in the act of
addressing it, provided it does not change position (move).
If
Bubba was deemed to have addressed the ball, under Rule 18-2b he would only be
subject to penalty if the ball moved, which by definition means the ball left
its position and came to rest in any other place. In this circumstance, the ball clearly neither left its
position, nor came to rest somewhere else. Therefore, even though it wobbled, it did not “move” as
defined by the Rule of Golf.
No comments:
Post a Comment