At the start of this year it seemed
incomprehensible that there would not be a Rules situation every single week of
the golf season. And yet, since Tiger
infamously dropped his ball in a place that was a combination of two correct
options (two wrongs don’t make a right, but two rights can make a wrong), with
the exception of anchoring (don’t say another word), the Rules front has been
fairly quiet. So on the first full day
of British Open week, we’ll review two major Rules incidents from last year’s
Open Championship.
Paul Azinger and the “Clowns”
‘Zinger is a fine golfer and is
typically a pretty fair and practical analyst, but where he goes astray is with
the Rules. He really just doesn’t know
when to let the experts handle it. So
when Tiger’s ball on the sixth hole found the greenside bunker in a nearly
impossible position he suggested emphatically that Tiger should take an
unplayable and drop the ball outside the bunker. Those of us who do know the Rules were quick
to correct him, including a large portion via Twitter (including myself). He maintained his position that Tiger could
drop outside the bunker for a good 30 minutes including a side comment about “a
bunch of clowns” on Twitter who think they’re experts.
Well, those experts were right. Under Rule 28 (Ball Unplayable), when a
player’s ball lies in the bunker, the only option the player has to get outside
the bunker is to proceed under stroke an distance (Rule 28a). Rules 28b and 28c require that the ball be
dropped in the bunker.
Azinger was confusing Rule 28 with
another Rule that was applicable in certain circumstances that week, Rule
25-1b. Because of the rains, there was
plenty of standing water in the bunker.
Under Rule 25-1b, when a player has interference from an abnormal ground
condition (burrowing animal hole, casual water or ground under repair), the
player has an additional option of dropping outside the bunker on a line that
keeps the point where the ball originally lay between the dropped ball and the
flagstick, under penalty of one stroke.
A player had opted to drop in such a fashion earlier in the day so it
was fairly reasonable for Azinger to make that mistake. This year, I hope, Azinger will just let
Peter Dawson do the talking…
Adam Scott’s Moving Ball
On the seventh hole of the final
round, Adam Scott had hit his approach just long of the green at the top of a
fairly steep slope. He took several
practice swings near the ball, walked away and about t10-20 seconds later the
ball began to roll down the hill. As
Scott had not addressed the ball, the applicable Rule was 18-2a. The Rules Official had to determine whether
Scott had caused the ball to move or if it had started to move on its own. Azinger also chimed in here claiming that a
previous similar ruling had gone against him earlier in his career (which is
true) and that it was going to be a one-stroke penalty. On air, Peter Dawson (Chief Rules Official
for the R & A) agreed.
The walking Rules Official with the
group, after questioning Scott determined that he had NOT caused the ball to
move and the ball was to be played from where it came to rest without
penalty. Rules officials across the
globe were on the edge of their seats.
The ruling could honestly have gone either way. The determination was made because there was
a significant amount of time between Scott’s practice swings and when the ball
began to move, even though the practice swings were taken relatively close to
the position of the ball. Had Scott won
the Open, many would’ve looked back and questioned the official’s ruling. Had he been penalized and Scott had lost,
many would’ve questioned the ruling. In
the end, it was the right call and it did not have an effect on the outcome of
the championship.
No comments:
Post a Comment