Well,
as I found out delightfully this week, I know there are more than just my
fellow NorCal brethren awaiting the first 2016 post. As has become tradition, I
have a Live from Rules School summary for everyone after taking the first
workshop and exam session of the year down at PGA Education HQ in Port St.
Lucie.
First:
1.
I hadn’t been back to the Education Center since
graduating the PGM program in 2009, and I suppose there were some good vibes in
the air, although quite a bit different from attending a workshop at a hotel
ballroom site. If you haven’t attended a workshop there, it is worth it, the
projection setup and acoustics work very well for a seminar.
2.
A gigantic thank you to the two instructors John
Morrissett and Jim O’Mara. I signed up based on John’s reputation and he
certainly did not disappoint. It’s quite clear his time away from the USGA has
still been spent thinking about the Rules with a level of understanding the
rest of us are only hoping to attain. But I also have to compliment Jim, whose
presentation was not only on point, but also very solid from a performance
standpoint (voice inflection, gestures, engaging the class, etc.). Not intending to discount previous PGA instructors I’ve had, but for those who look for instructors to
see I would put Jim on that list for the future.
3.
Additionally, a big thank you to the Workshop
maestro himself who served as coordinator, David Staebler. It’s always clear
the thought going into the presentation and the little additions and
Stabeler-isms that make difficult concepts easier to grasp (although I was disappointed that "announcey-marky"did not stick).
I spent the week fighting off a nasty cold (that still
really isn’t completely gone), but was still able to come away with a few new points
of emphasis that I think can help Rules aficionados of all levels and are worth
sharing. If you’re new to the blog
and are hoping for exam insight…not gon’ happen. Scratch that, I have one big tip… Don’t tell David I shared…
KNOW THE DEFINITIONS. Hope that
helps. =) And for those asking how I did, in an attempt to answer the question once rather than a thousand times, there’s a hint in the article below.
Stroke Play Must
Correct or DQs:
I’m
always looking for the ways the Rules are interconnected and the philosophy
behind them. While Tuft’s
Principles are, of course, key, he hasn’t been involved in writing the Rules
for some time so finding other connections still helps. John Morrissett
proposed thinking of the must correct or DQ requirement of Rule 15-3 as an
extension of Rule 3-2, (i.e, if you hole out a wrong ball, you haven’t really
holed out, so if you don’t correct the mistake and play the next hole, you never
really holed out).
I
think you can extend this thought and “principle” to all the stroke play must
correct or DQ situations.
·
Rule 11-4
& 5: If you play from outside the/a wrong teeing ground in stroke play
when starting a hole, you must correct the mistake or be disqualified. While this isn’t quite the same as
extending the “failed to hole out” principle, it is easy to think about it as
“you didn’t play the whole course and you didn’t play the same game.” Remember,
if you start the hole by playing from outside the teeing ground, you don’t have
a ball in play in stroke play. If you never have a ball in play, how can you
say you’ve played the game as set forth in Rules 1 or 3? If you play from a
wrong teeing ground at the start of a hole, not only do you not have a ball in
play, but it’s possible that you may have left 100 yards of the hole behind
(playing from a forward tee instead of a back tee).
·
Rule
15-3: As mentioned in the opening paragraph, if you hole out with a wrong
ball, you didn’t play the game with a ball in play. How can you say you’ve
holed out if you never finished the hole with a ball in play?
·
Rule
20-7c (Serious Breach): If you’ve committed a serious breach of playing
from a wrong place, you haven’t played the whole course. The Rules require you
to negotiate all the challenges a full course entails, and if you’ve gained a
significant advantage by playing from a wrong place, you’ve obviously skipped
one or more of those challenges by your breach of the applicable Rule.
·
Rule
29-3: If the wrong partner plays in threesome or foursome play, the side
hasn’t abided by the given format – they didn’t play the same game. So the
Rules are going to require that mistake to be corrected. This may seem like an overly harsh penalty for a seemingly small breach, but
the advantage that could be gained by having the wrong partner play a stroke is
so significant, the Rules have to dissuade it with an equally significant
penalty.
To keep the consistency factor going, all must correct or
DQs have the same timeliness factor for correcting the error: prior to playing
from the next teeing ground, or in the case of the final hole, prior to leaving
the putting green (3-2 requires the correction prior to leaving the putting
green, the rest require that the intent to correct be declared prior to leaving
the putting green).
Parallel Rules?
Have
you ever thought of Rules 13 and 16 as parallel Rules? Rule 13 gives you the
dos and don’ts for through the green and in a hazard (13-4), while Rule 16
gives you the dos and don’ts for the putting green. 13-2 even gives some permissions for the teeing ground and
it also applies to your situation on a putting green, but they sort of work
together in principle.
“Might Influence”
Support
Influencing
the movement of a ball in motion is a big no, no in the Rules of Golf. Even
just taking action with the intent to influence a moving ball is a penalty,
regardless of whether the action actually affects the ball in motion (Rule
1-2). And while the word intent does not appear in the other prohibitions
(16-1b, 17-1 and -2, Notes to 22-1 and 22-2, 23-1 and 24-1) whether or not the
action actually affects the ball in motion is never the consideration for
whether the penalty applies.
With
Rules 16-1b and 17-2 we get specific Decisions that tell us when the penalty
applies in these “might influence” situations. In both Decisions (16-1b/4 and
17-2/2) we get the (almost) exact same sentence, “The determination as to whether there is a reasonable possibility that
B’s ball/the removal of the flagstick might
have influenced the movement of A’s/the ball is made by reference to the situation at the time B lifted the
ball/the flagstick was removed.”
The
principle is that in “might influence” situations the determination is made at
the time the prohibited action occurs, not whether the action actually
influences the ball in motion. But we only get those two Decisions. This means we have to extend that
principle to the other “might influence” situations. For Rule 17-1, it’s easy
to apply 17-2/2 because we’re dealing with the removal of a flagstick. For the
Notes in 22-1 and 22-2, I’m a believer that the Notes are really just referring
back to the specific prohibition in Rule 16-1b (rather than acting as stand
alone Rules violations) and so applying 16-1b/4 is a perfect match in my mind.
But when we get to 23-1 and 24-1, we have to apply the principles from those
Decisions to situations that are not specifically described.
In
order to do so, take the italicized phrase above and insert the applicable
prohibited movement:
The determination as to whether there is a reasonable
possibility that __________ (B’s ball / the removal of the flagstick, loose
impediment or movable obstruction) might have influenced the movement of the
ball in motion is made by reference to the situation at the time ________ (B
lifted the ball / the flagstick, loose impediment or movable obstruction was
removed).
One hundred cheers to everyone and good luck with your
upcoming championship seasons!
No comments:
Post a Comment