When
Tiger’s ball ended in a tree on the 17th hole he had a Rules
problem. Here is the proper explanation:
When
Tiger’s ball ended in the tree, if he could not identify it himself he had only
one option – return to the tee under penalty of stroke and distance under Rule
27-1. By definition if the ball is
not identified as his within 5 minutes, the original ball is lost and he must
proceed under Rule 27-1. (Note also, under Rule 28 – Ball Unplayable – he is not required to
identify the ball if he proceeds under Rule 28a, which is proceeding under
stroke and distance).
If
he could identify the ball as his, he would be permitted to drop the ball under
Rule 28c using the point on the ground directly beneath where the ball lay in the tree as
the reference point for taking relief (see Decision 28/11).
Tiger
used binoculars to identify the golf ball, which is permissible even if he didn’t
retrieve the golf ball (see Decision 27/14). Because he identified the ball he was entitled to declare
the ball unplayable and proceed under Rule 28c, dropping a ball within two
club-lengths of the spot on the ground directly underneath the ball in the tree
under penalty of one stroke. He made bogey on 17, but ended the day with a
four-stroke lead going into the final round.
No comments:
Post a Comment